The Fault in our Stars : The Movie

I just got back from seeing The Fault in our Stars at the local movie theater and I have a few thoughts about it. I can’t say that I totally love the movie. Is it an awful movie? No. Does it deserve Oscar winnings? No. Can it barely pass as a bubbly teen movie with a super sad ending? Yes.

I thought so long about seeing the movie because I didn’t want it to ruin how I feel about the book. I literally read the book in two sittings. It’s an amazing book. Of course the movie is never better and as detailed as the book, but I gave it a try anyway.

The movie started off pretty slow for me. In the beginning I was thinking about walking out because the acting lacked in the opening. There were things that happened in the movie that I recognized from the book and there were also things that were left out, which is understandable due to how long the movie would have been if they included everything. I think the director did a good job with capturing the most important moments. The moments with Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters, particularly. In my eyes, the acting improved TREMENDOUSLY when they were in Amsterdam. I actually choked a little when they were riding under the bridge. I thought that moment was amazing.

In some parts, I thought the acting was really cheesy. I was not a fan of the acting. I think they could have chose better actors for the characters. My deal with this movie is the horrible acting. Does anyone else feel the same? I don’t want to seem like I have so many complaints about the movie (I don’t), but the acting, guys! At the end of the movie when the credits were rolling, I heard someone say, “good movie.” *cough* If you read the book, you wouldn’t say that! During the scenes when they were trying to be funny… things that I found really funny while reading the book weren’t funny at all in the movie. The part where they egged Issac’s ex-girlfriends car was the most I laughed during the whole movie. 

I want to say that I absolutely LOVE LOVE Willem Dafoe, who played Van Houten. He is an awesome actor. So talented. 

 

 

…..I’m not….. I’m just not…. I don’t know. It’s an okay film adaptation. Thank God we still have the book. 

 

Leave a Reply

