Review: Every day by David Levithan

20140702-161821-58701445.jpg

Released: August 28, 2012

Publisher: Knof Books For Young Readers

Length: 338 pages

Synopsis

I wake up.

Immediately, I have to figure out who I am. It’s not just the body–opening my eyes and discovering whether the skin on my arm is light or dark, whether my hair is long or short, whether I’m fat or thin, boy or girl, scarred or smooth. The body is the easiest thing to adjust to, if you’re used to waking up in a new one each morning. It’s the life, the context of the body, that can be hard to grasp.

Every day I am someone else. I am myself–but I am also someone else.

It has always been like this.

Review

I want to start by saying this book has changed my life! It’s changed my views on a lot of things. I’m sure the author didn’t set out to change everyone’s life, but this book is capable of doing that. For it being a young adult, contemporary novel it covers many issues in the lives of individuals in a very sophisticated way. I want to get more into the philosophical part of the novel (because I love philosophy), but I will save that for a future post. I want to share what I’ve learned from reading the novel because I think it’s powerful and interesting. I have two pages of quotes that I wrote down while reading and I want to share them and explain how they’ve touched me.

The novel is about a person named A who falls in love with Rhiannon, a girl A (I have to call the person A without including gender) met while inhabiting her boyfriend’s body for a day. A is capable of being in full control of a person’s body for a day and A is never the same person more than once. A tells Rhiannon who A is and eventually she believes and starts to fall in love, too. I don’t want to give too much away because I believe everyone should read this book. A learns something from each person he inhabits every day. Every chapter is about a different life and a different person. Some chapters are so detailed that you learn about the every day struggles of individuals and how they view the world and themselves.

If after reading this book you haven’t developed a broader understanding of the variety of individuals, socioeconomic statuses, gender and sex differences of individuals who live in this world, then I will say that you didn’t take enough time to read! This book took a while for me to read (more than usual) because I wanted to understand everything I read and ponder how I can relate to each chapter. It is a wonderful read of young adults, of course because they are at the stage in life where they are finding who they are and making their mark on the world. I think older readers will enjoy this book as well.

Every day is one of the best books I’ve read this year and I’m glad to have it on my bookshelf! Soon, I will post about the things I learned while reading Every day. I will also post quotes. There are chapters at the end of the book from Six Earlier Days, a recount of A’s life 6 days before Every day begins. I did not read those chapters yet because I want to do a separate review in the future. All in all, it’s a great novel.

Leave a Reply

