New Books!

city

Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City’s two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents’ sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud – and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths. (shortened)

Let me first say that this book is BEAUTIFUL! I’ve never seen a book so beautiful. I can’t wait to have it in my hands! I ordered this book on yesterday and I recently got an email confirming the shipment. Excited. I bought the hardback copy of this book and it was only a dollar and some cents plus shipping. I think I paid a little over five dollars for it. It cost less than the ebook.

I’m really getting into dystopian novels. It’s one of my favorite genres now besides horror, psychological suspense, paranormal, and science fiction. 🙂

_____________________________________________________________________________________

fracture

Eleven minutes passed before Delaney Maxwell was pulled from the icy waters of a Maine lake by her best friend Decker Phillips. By then her heart had stopped beating. Her brain had stopped working. She as dead. And yet she somehow defied medical precedent to come back seemingly fine.

-despite the scans that showed significant brain damage. Everyone wants Delaney to be all right, but she knows she’s far from normal. Pulled my strange sensations she can’t control or explain. Delaney finds herself drawn to the dying. Is her altered brain now predicting death, or causing it?

The synopsis of Fracture reminds of the book I’m currently reading, The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer. I’ve been reading a lot of books about girls getting into a terrible accidents and their lives changing ever since. I’m hoping this book won’t be predictable.

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Healey-GuardianOfTheDead-NewCover

Seventeen-year-old Ellie Spencer is just like any other teenager at her boarding school. She hangs out with her best friend Kevin, she obsesses over Mark, a cute and mysterious bad boy, and her biggest worry is her paper deadline.

But then everything changes. The news headlines are all abuzz about a local string of serial killings that all share the same morbid trademark: the victims were discovered with their eyes missing. Then a beautiful yet eerie woman enters Ellie’s circle of friends and develops an unhealthy fascination with Kevin, and a crazed old man grabs Ellie in a public square and shows a tattered Bible to her hands, exclaiming, “You need it. It will save your soul.” Soon, Ellie finds herself plunged into a haunting world of vengeful fairies. Maori mythology, romance, betrayal, and an epic battle for immortality.

Beautiful cover. I have no words!

_____________________________________________________________________________________

francesca

Seventeen year old Penelope (Pen) has lost everything – her home, her parents, and her ten-year-old brother. Like a female Odysseus in search of home, she navigates a dark world full of strange creatures, gathers companions and loses them, finds love and loses it, and faces her mortal enemy.

I must have had a good day for ordering books with beautiful covers. I didn’t do it on purpose. I promise!

_____________________________________________________________________________________

monstrous

Fierce, seductive mermaid Syrenka falls in love with Ezra, a young naturalist. When she abandons her life underwater for a chance at happiness on land, she is unaware that this decision comes with horrific and deadly consequences. Almost one hundred forty years later, seventeen-year-old Hester meets a mysterious stranger named Ezra and feels overwhelmingly, inexplicably drawn to him. For generations, love has resulted in death for the women in her family. Is it an undiagnosed genetic defect…. or a curse? 

_____________________________________________________________________________________

shadow

Darcy Jones doesn’t remember anything before the day she was abandoned as a child outside a Chicago fire house. She has never really belonged anywhere but she could have guessed that she comes from an alternate world where the Great Chicago Fire didn’t happen and deadly creatures called Shades terrorize the human population.

Memories begin to haunt Darcy when a new boy arrives at her high school, and he makes her feel both desire and desired in a way she hadn’t thought possible. But Conn’s interest in her is confusing. It doesn’t line up with the way he first looked at her.

As if she’s the enemy. 

_____________________________________________________________________________________

I went crazy with this order! All of these books are YA. I am finding that the premises of YA novels are a lot more interesting than Adult novels. When the author doesn’t write on the level of young adult readers… sophisticated writing, it makes them even more appealing to me. I will be picking up Mortal Danger from the local bookstore today. I’ve been waiting to get my hands on it! If you have any questions or comments about the books I posted above, leave a message below!

2 thoughts on “New Books!

  1. chitownbooks says:

    Hi I came across your blog, and I love it! I’ve been trying to find other book bloggers like myself, and it would be greatly appreciated if you check out mine. Thanks (:

Leave a Reply

