Reading Week: August 3-9, 2014

I read a total of two books this week and two last week that I did not post.

 

Legend_Marie_Lu_Book_cover

Legend by Marie Lu (Last week)

I picked up this book while I was in Target last week. This book is one of the best dystopian novels I’ve ever read. It kept my attention and my heart racing. It’s about two young people from two different worlds and their lives collide through events that happened to their families. I do plan to read Prodigy and Champion to finish the trilogy, but I don’t know when I will get to them. However, I plan to read Prodigy very soon. I don’t want to forget the key details of Legend before reading it.

 

judy-blume-forever

Forever by Judy Blume (Last week)

This book was first published in 1976. I’m not sure if I would have read it in 1976… I wasn’t born then, but if I were alive then, I’m not sure I would have read it. This book is definitely written like it was released in the 70s. The language that is used and the descriptions. I think that is what I liked most about this book. It gave me an idea of how different relationships were seen and handled back then. It’s an interesting book about a young couple who think they are going to be together forever as the title suggests. A series of events take place and their love is challenged.

 

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

I can normally read about 3-4 books a week, but the Mara Dyer trilogy is REALLY long. I managed to read both of them this week. I don’t know how to describe how I feel about these books! They’re so twisted and addictive at the same time. The story is basically about a girl who got into an accident with her friends and everyone was killed but her, so she has these nightmares… and visions of them. I don’t want to give too much away about the story, but it is good if you like to read not so… fluffy stories. I will read the third book that is set to release in September, I believe.

 

Leave a Reply

