Book Review: Say Her Name by James Dawson

bloody

Say Her Name

James Dawson

Length: 287 pages

My Goodreads rating: 4 stars

Roberta ‘Bobbie’ Rowe is not the kind of person who believes in ghosts. A Halloween dare at her ridiculously spooky boarding school is no big deal, especially when her best friend Naya and cute local boy Caine agree to join in too. They are ordered to summon the legendary ghost of Bloody Mary: say her name five times in front of a candlelit mirror, and she shall appear…But, surprise surprise, nothing happens. Or does it?

Review

Drip, drip, drip…

When I started reading the first page of this book I loved how there was a description of what happened before the present day events. The whole book read like it was a movie and I was able to envision everything happening. My only gripe about this book was that it is a bit juvenile. I expect that from a YA author, but I’ve also read The Merciless, which was as gory as you could possibly imagine. I loved it! If you are a fan of the urban legend Bloody Mary, you’ll enjoy this story.

I read reviews about Say Her Name on Goodreads and most people were a bit freaked out about it, but I didn’t get it. I actually didn’t feel anything while reading this book. I was very interested in what happened next, though. The writing and timing of events were well organized. I didn’t like the wording and I felt the characters were a bit immature, but what else can I expect from YA? I’m not saying all YA literature is juvenile. I can only account for this book and future YA books I read.

A striking element to this novel is the author is male and he developed his female characters perfectly! I was so taken by how he was able to write about girly things… develop characters with girly humor and language. He’s quite a talented author in that respect. I haven’t stumbled upon many male authors who write novels with female lead characters and for it to be believable. Very interesting!

I definitely recommend this book for teens and young adults.

Leave a Reply

