Book Review: The Story of Awkward by R. K. Ryals

awkward

Published April 10, 2014

Length: 284 pages

If you are looking for a happy book about beautiful people, this is the wrong story.
If you are looking for a narrative without emotion, without regrets, and without mistakes, this is definitely the wrong story.

This is by no means an uncomplicated tale about uncomplicated people. It is by no means sweet or light.

This story is ugly.
This story is complicated.
This story is emotional.
This story is tragic.

In short, this story is about being awkward.

Review

I cannot put into words how much I love this book. I was completely engrossed. I don’t have any gripes. There is nothing negative to say about this book. It is absolutely perfect. This book is a readers dream. Amazing. It is about a girl who went through challenges like most teens in school. Bullying and a not so good family life. Something happens on her way to college that sends her through a series of events that were completely her work. A lot of readers think this book is sad. It does have sad parts, but I can’t say the whole book is sad because it isn’t. It won’t depress you. Saying this book is depressing is overkill.

The setting and how the story unfolds reminds me a lot of Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland. It actually has some elements taken from various childhood stories, specifically fairytales to make an extremely awkward one (the title gives it away). The characters are great. The love story is great. I have no words! I think EVERYONE should read this book. No matter the age. Usually, I don’t read fairytales and stories that are loosely based on fairytales, but this one kept my attention because it is so different! It’s an awkward fairytale with awkward characters. I can’t wait to read more of her work.

Best of all, the book is free on Kindle and iBooks! It’s definitely worth the download.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Story of Awkward by R. K. Ryals

  1. Char Johnson says:

    I enjoy a good free book. I actually just downloaded this. I will check it out and let you know what I think if it as well!

Leave a Reply

