Book Review: The Enchanted by Rene Denfeld

enchanted

Published: March 4, 2014

Length: 256 pages

Source: Bought | eBook

“This is an enchanted place. Others don’t see it, but I do.” The enchanted place is an ancient stone prison, viewed through the eyes of a death row inmate who finds escape in his books and in re-imagining life around him, weaving a fantastical story of the people he observes and the world he inhabits. Fearful and reclusive, he senses what others cannot. Though bars confine him every minute of every day, he marries visions of golden horses running beneath the prison, heat flowing like molten metal from their backs with the devastating violence of prison life.

Review

First of all, why is this book so amazing? I’ve read two amazing books in a row and I am so happy about that! Again, If you read my review of The Story of Awkward, then you will understand when I say I have no words. None! I have to definitely redo my best books of 2014 to add this one. I love really dark and gory books, but this story takes place in a prison. I think what makes this book more serious and real to me is because it is prison and it more than likely happens almost every day in reality. It’s not a random killing or stalking case that I often read about. I’m not saying killing and stalking isn’t real. I am saying that those things taking place in prison is more creepy. There’s nowhere to go! And you’re surrounded by killers. It’s almost inevitable. It made me cringe a little. Even though this is a work of fiction, the realism is breathtaking. It’s too real! Also, Denfeld wrote this book in a poetic style. I never thought a story so dark and helpless can be so beautifully written.

The story is told by an inmate. While reading this book you can get a little confused because he’s narrating, telling the stories of other characters (including their thoughts and feelings), and telling his own story. He is what we call an omniscient narrator. He knows and sees all. You have to pay attention when you’re reading this book or you will get lost. Through the book we learn that every character has their demons and somehow they all work together and contribute to the events forming prison life. Besides that, deep topics such as morality and death are explored from different point of views of the inmates, investigator (the lady), priest, and warden. We also take a look into their lives and understand what makes them who they are and what influences the decisions they make inside the prison walls.

I don’t want to give too much away about this book, but I recommend it. I cannot say how much I love this book enough. It is a truly, truly amazing work and it deserves every book award there is.

One thought on “Book Review: The Enchanted by Rene Denfeld

Leave a Reply

