Book Reviews: Half Bad, Popular & We Were Liars

Hello! I’ve read 3 books so far and we’re only 4 days into the new year. I am very surprised! I chose to read some really engaging books, so I’m guessing that may be why I’ve read them so fast. Instead of doing one post for each book I decided to knock them all out since I finished them all so quickly. Let’s get to the reviews.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/426/70174942/files/2015/01/img_8993.jpg

I really liked this book. It is a memoir written by Maya, who was thirteen during the time about her life being a geek. Her father bought a book a long time ago about popularity, style, and etiquette for teens. Maya found it while rummaging through things. Then she got the idea to follow the popularity guide and document her life throughout her 8th grade school year. I thought this book was very honest. When people review this book they only say it’s about a young girl following a popularity guide from years ago, but it’s a lot more than that. She tells us a lot about her life living near the Texas/Mexico boarder, the dangers that come with her place of residence, the socioeconomic statuses of her family and those around her, race, class, and the community she grew up in. There’s a lot more to this book than a young girl following a popularity guide.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/426/70174942/files/2015/01/img_9034.jpg

I absolutely adore it! I couldn’t put it down. I cannot wait for book two, Half Wild. It’s set to release in March. I normally don’t pick up books about witches. I’m really glad I picked this one up. The story is so fresh and nothing like I’ve ever read before. First of all, the story takes place in England. This is interesting. To put it simply, it’s not the typical witch book. This story is about a boy named Nathan who is a half white witch and half black witch. Needless to say he is not liked by many people. When he turns a certain age he has to get his gifts, if not then he will surely die. However, since he’s a half black witch in a society that is ruled by white witches he has a chance of dying anyway. If that wasn’t bad enough, Nathan is the son of the most famous and strongest black witch there is. Yes. Very interesting story. There is a lot of backstory, so it didn’t get interesting to me until the middle of the book, then things started to pick up from there. The ending left me hoping the second book would release earlier than expected.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/426/70174942/files/2015/01/img_9089.jpg

Where do I start…. I was expecting so much more from this book because everyone has been raving about it. The concept was interesting, but it was poorly written. I can’t say much about it because (here we go again) everyone says it’s better if you don’t know anything about this book before you read it. I didn’t find not knowing to help me find this book entertaining or mysterious. It didn’t help at all. I think it’s more of a marketing ploy to get people to buy and read it. The metaphors are terrible. There was no defined climax. The ending was mediocre. If you really want to know what I’m talking about give the book a try. I must say the first chapter, well first couple of pages took me off guard. That was it for the shock factor.

Those are the books I’ve read between December 31, 2014 – January 3, 2015! I’ve never had such a good set of books (minus We Were Liars) that I’ve read ever! Really happy about it.

Leave a Reply

