Book Review: Landline by Rainbow Rowell

landline2After I read and loved Positive, I picked up Landline by Rainbow Rowell. The story is about a couple who are on the rocks. Georgie, the wife of Neal and mom of two girls, is a busy writer for a popular television show which consumes her life. She cowrites with her best friend Seth. Seth and Neal aren’t the best of friends because there’s always been jealousy between them. Neal wants Georgie to spend Christmas with him and the girls at his mom’s house in Nebraska. Georgie refuses because she has work to do at her job. That is pretty much how the story begins. Of course Georgie finds a phone and connects it to the landline at her mother’s house. This phone will connect her to the past and allows her to relive when she first met her husband and she figures out what she has to do to sort of win him back. This phone gave her the ability to talk to her husband before they got married and had children. Practically when the were dating and no one knows this but Georgie. Even past Neal didn’t know he was talking to future Georgie.

I would have liked this story if it wasn’t so repetitive. The only funny and interesting part in this book to me was Georgie’s two girls Noomi and…forgot the other name, but those two girls are hilarious! Other than that, I read this book incredibly slow. It was mainly a back and forth battle with getting in touch with her husband. There was always an excuse as to why he couldn’t answer his phone. This could have been a teen drama because I felt like the characters were too immature to be adults.

I don’t feel I learned anything from this book. It was all a big blah to me. I think the story could have been shorter. Landline is Rowell’s second adult book, so I don’t want to be too harsh and this was also the first book I read from her. I do know of Fangirl, Eleanor & Park, and Attachments. Not sure if I will check those out because I’m not really a fan of her writing style. All in all, I didn’t care for this book, but it wasn’t terrible. I also don’t get the hype surrounding this story. The humor was good enough for me to give it two stars on Goodreads.

I’m currently reading, Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch and a review will be posted soon.

Leave a Reply

