You Think You Know About Vampires? Think Again!

bookish-fledglingAfter picking this book up at the beginning of the month, I finally finished it. Finally. If you think you know all there is to know about vampires, think again, my dear. I had a bit of cognitive dissonance while reading this book because Ms. Butler took everything I knew about vampires and said it was all wrong! This is a work of fiction, but all of the other fictional books about vampires seem to run into each other. None are significantly different than the other until I read this book.

This the story of an apparently young, amnesiac girl whose alarmingly unhuman needs and abilities lead her to a startling conclusion: She is in fact a genetically modified, 53-year-old vampire. Forced to discover what she can about her stolen former life, she must at the same time learn who wanted-and still wants-to destroy her and those she cares for and how she can save herself.

The story began really mysteriously and had my attention until I got done with more than half of the book. The story is very interesting. You will learn about things concerning the nature and makeup of vampires that will make you a little uncomfortable; especially if you love reading similar stories. Towards the end, the storytelling started to become repetitive and I lost interest. I think it’s great to keep refreshing the reader’s mind, but it can become annoying.

Also, I love when authors are descriptive in their storytelling. However, Ms. Butler was a VERY descriptive author. Every character in the story is fully developed. Background information is given about every character and family. Sometimes it can make a book longer than it should be.The human-vampire relationships took me off guard. You would never think humans would be welcoming to vampires (and vice versa) and they will actually live together in harmony.

I thoroughly enjoyed her writing style. Race, politics, sexism, and poverty are common ground in this book. I recommend it if you love reading books with vampires and don’t mind getting a different perspective.

Leave a Reply

