Mini Book Haul!

I took a break yesterday from a long morning of studying and decided to go to one of the Barnes & Nobles in my city (the biggest one). I could go to the book store every day of my life and I would find a different book I want to read. Here’s the books I bought yesterday:

speakFrom the first moment of her freshman year at Merryweather High, Melinda knows this is a big fat lie, part of the nonsense of high school. She is friendless, outcast, because she busted an end-of-summer party by calling the cops, so now nobody will talk to her, let alone listen to her. As time passes, she becomes increasingly isolated and practically stops talking altogether. Only her art class offers any solace, and it is through her work on an art project that she is finally able to face what really happened at that terrible party.

I’ve been hearing a lot about this book recently. I know that it covers sensitive topics. Topics that I won’t discuss here, but if you want to know more, you can Google search and find out for yourself.  It was originally released in 1999. I’m sure this book resonates with many young people which may be why it was re-released. It basically covers topics no one wants to voluntarily talk about.

soldLakshmi is a thirteen-year-old girl who lives with her family in a small hut on a mountain in Nepal. Though she is desperately poor, her life is full of simple pleasures, like playing hopscotch with her best friend from school, and having her mother brush her hair by the light of an oil lamp. But when the harsh Himalayan monsoons wash away all that remains of the family’s crops, Lakshmi’s stepfather says she must leave home and take a job to support her family.

I’ve seen this book PLENTY of times and finally decided to pick it up. A movie adaptation is available now. I’m not sure if I’m going to watch the movie, but the book interests me. I had to chose between this book and The DUFF, Sold won! It also covers a sensitive topic. I’m always looking for books about young girls and women with a setting in other countries. I find stories about foreign girls and women the most intriguing, especially if they’re experiencing something considered taboo.

I cannot buy anymore books before I move! I’m going to have a hard time moving my book collection, so I have to have a physical book buying ban until April 1st! *fingers crossed*

2 thoughts on “Mini Book Haul!

Leave a Reply

