Bring On The Books! Things To Know About Overdrive

overdriveI’m finally setting the time aside to write a post about Overdrive because I tell almost everyone I know about it! If you don’t know what Overdrive is, I’m glad I can help and I’m glad you’re reading this! 🙂 Even I didn’t know about Overdrive and I frequented the library a lot. It has definitely cut my trips to the library down. I haven’t been to the library since last year and I don’t have any fees for turning in books late! This was the best idea to make books more accessible to readers no matter their situations.

Overdrive is basically an app available on iPhone and Android that let’s you choose ebooks from your local library. The service is totally free and all you need is a library card. That’s it! You need to have a library card from your local library. For example, if you live in a particular part a town, let’s say… West Baton Rouge. You will need a library card you signed up for at a library in West Baton Rouge and choose a library in West Baton Rouge that offers the service. Your library card will not work on Overdrive if you choose a library outside of your town/district and state.

Your library card will work like it would at your local library. Your password to check out books is, of course your card number. You can set the amount of days you want to have the book checked out and you can also place books on hold. Also, there is a limit to how many books you can have checked out at once and how many you can place on hold.

I find the service even more useful because libraries have partnered with Amazon. I have two physical Kindles and you can choose to check out books, then have them sent to your Kindle from Amazon. However, not all books have the Kindle option. The other choice is downloading a book (epub format) and reading it straight from the Overdrive app. You will have to set up an account with Overdrive to read books that way. You don’t necessarily have to have a physical Kindle. You have another option to download the free Kindle app on your device and books will download there too!

As I mentioned above, there are no late fees associated with checking out ebooks. Once the number of days you picked to have the book checked out is up, your book will automatically expire. If you place books on hold, you can choose to have them automatically checked out to you and you will receive an email once it’s available. If you finish reading a book before the date due, then you can return it through the service you used to read it (Amazon or Overdrive) and check out more books.

I think I’ve covered everything you need to know. The app is simple and easy to use. I read so many books using Overdrive. If you have any questions, please let me know and tell everyone, especially readers about Overdrive!

Leave a Reply

