Just Finished: Angelfall by Susan Ee

angelfallI want to first start by saying how saddened I am by recently finding Angelfall. *inserts sad face* Even though I got my hands on it a few years late, I’m glad I did eventually. I LOVE this book. I cannot tell you guys how much I love it. I’ve never been a fan of reading books with angel characters. What makes this book so surprisingly different? Susan Ee is an amazing storyteller. This is how books with angel characters should be written! It’s flawless! I can’t explain how much I love this book without jumping up and down from complete and utter….happiness.

The story begins with a teen named Penryn who lives with her mother and sister. Penryn feels as if she has to take on everything because her mother and sister are disabled. Her sister is paralyzed from the waist down and her mother suffers from schizophrenia. The three of them are escaping from their home due to angels taking over the world. They are in a time called the “world after,” referring to life after the apocalypse. There’s barely any food left and danger around every turn. Humans and angels are enemies. The humans see these angels as a threat to their wellbeing.

While escaping, Penryn comes across an angel, Raffe who is having a hard time with other angels. Things happen. As the angels are fighting Raffe, another angel takes her sister, Paige. Penryn sets on an adventure to get her sister back from the enemy angels. Raffe decides to help Penryn and she helps him along the way as well.  Soon, Penryn and Raffe get comfortable with each other and they begin a journey to help each other while disregarding they are on opposing sides. The two deal with this internal conflict  throughout the story.

As I mentioned above, I am in love with this story. The sequel to this book is called World After released in 2013 and the 2015 release, The End Days concludes the trilogy. I will be reading all three! The writing is amazing. The characters are interesting and fun. The story was not too long. It was the perfect length. I didn’t think the details were overdone or underdone. I got just enough background information to understand and really enjoy reading it. I recommend this book to everyone.

 

2 thoughts on “Just Finished: Angelfall by Susan Ee

Leave a Reply

