Penryn and The End of Days (Book Two and Book Three) Review

world afterSince I read book two and book three so closely together, I decided to put the reviews of both books in one post. I thought it would be easier that way. I haven’t read a trilogy back to back and so quickly before this one. I practically ate them! World After is a continuation of Angelfall. It was action backed and I was able to read more about Raffe and other angels and why the world was the way it was.  It wasn’t what sparked the war between humans and angels. I’m assuming the war began because Archangel Gabriel was killed, but I’m not sure by who (humans or angels). The story didn’t quite clear that up. Part of the story is about who will replace Archangel Gabriel as the Messenger and of course there are swords, demons, and monsters in the mix. There isn’t much I can say about World After without giving the whole trilogy away just in case you all would like to read it.

end of days Again, I can’t say much without giving the story away. End of Days was what I expected and not what I expected at all. I feel there was a lot left to be read and known. I feel the events happened too quickly. The first two books built a fun and exciting story. The last book didn’t quite hold up to it. In some chapters I thought Ms. Ee was just writing to fill up space. There was a ton of information that didn’t contribute anything substantial to the story. It was like “seat filling.”

What I loved about this trilogy is that no matter what ailment you have or how you look, you can always find a way to contribute to society. There’s an array of unique, colorlful characters filling the pages of this trilogy that I believe we can all learn from. Yes, this is a telling of the end days featuring archangels and their threat to humanity, but it also reveals how terrible humans can be to other humans just by their appearance or the environment they live in where they have to fight over food just to survive. Ms. Ee incorporated several social issues in this book that makes reading this book more than just entertainment. I highly recommend this trilogy!

Leave a Reply

