A Lady Never Starts A Fight, But She’ll Finish it…

rebel belleA lady never starts a fight, but she’ll complain after

I wanted to read this book because I am a southern belle! Born and raised in Louisiana, so I was interested. This story really gave us southern girls a bad name. The story is mainly about an overachieving, judgmental, and well off teen named Harper who is part of every organization there is in high school to decorate her transcript for college. With that said, she is also very annoying. I can’t see how her friends and boyfriend put up with her on a daily basis! She’s so consumed with her own life and what she has to do with little care for others. Us southern girls are not that way. I am sure what’s in the book is the general view of how society sees southern belles, but it can’t be farther from the truth! However, I did like how Harper’s character was made to be one of the potential valedictorians of her high school, so it wasn’t all bad.

I think it’s comical that a young girly girl has a date with destiny and becomes a sword wielding, karate chopping Paladin to one of the boys she’s hated since grade school. Her life gets interrupted before she is crowned Homecoming Queen, then she was given the powers from a dying man to become a Paladin, but that didn’t take away her extreme lady habits (I wish it did).

I am 81% done with this book and I’m not sure if I will finish it. It’s taken me longer to read than others because it isn’t a gripping tale to me. The story is really light and fluffy. It doesn’t go into much detail to not be able to put it down. It’s more comical than anything. I’m used to reading well written fantasy novels, but this is fantasy with a super girly twist. This book is great for teen girls who like kickass lead characters and not into the traditional fantasy novels. I was going to buy this book and I’m glad I didn’t. It will be heading back to the library soon. Like I said, this story is great for teens and even preteens; not entertaining to a 29 year old! If you enjoyed or interested in reading Rebel Belle, the next book in the trilogy or duology is Miss Mayhem that has already been released.

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

